Facebook X YouTube Instagram Pinterest NetGalley
Google Books previews are unavailable because you have chosen to turn off third party cookies for enhanced content. Visit our cookies page to review your cookie settings.

Citizen Welles (Paperback)

A Biography of Orson Welles

Hobbies & Lifestyle > Film, Media & Television

Imprint: University Press of Kentucky
Series: Screen Classics
Pages: 692
ISBN: 9780813197135
Published: 25th April 2023
Casemate UK Academic

Please note this book may be printed for your order so despatch times may be slightly longer than usual.



You'll be £36.00 closer to your next £10.00 credit when you purchase Citizen Welles. What's this?
+£4.99 UK Delivery or free UK delivery if order is over £40
(click here for international delivery rates)

Need a currency converter? Check XE.com for live rates

George Orson Welles (1915-1985) is considered to be among the greatest and most influential filmmakers of all time. At just twenty-five years old, he co-wrote, produced, directed, and starred in his Academy-Award-winning debut film Citizen Kane (1941). His innovative and distinctive directorial style - nonlinear narratives, unusual camera angles, deep focus shots, and long takes - continues to be emulated by directors and cinematographers to this day. The brilliant yet provocative Welles won multiple Grammys, a Golden Globe, and the greatest honor the Directors Guild of America bestows: the D.W. Griffith Award. His final film, The Other Side of the Wind, was released in 2018, 33 years after his death.  


In Citizen Welles, author Frank Brady presents a comprehensive and complete picture of the artist and auteur. Painstakingly researched, Brady delves into Welles's creative achievements, from his critically acclaimed film Citizen Kane and his controversial radio broadcast The War of the Worlds (1938) to his pioneering stage productions of the classics of Shakespeare, Shaw, and Ionesco; and Welles' starring turn on Broadway in Shaw's Heartbreak House (for which he made the cover of Time). Brady also explores other notable films, including The Magnificent Ambersons (1942), Touch of Evil (1958), and Chimes at Midnight (1965). This all-encompassing work also details the personal side of Welles's life, including his romances with Rita Hayworth and Dolores Del Rio and the confounding tragedy of his final years. Presented is a captivating and compelling encapsulation of the revered and respected artist.

There are no reviews for this book. Register or Login now and you can be the first to post a review!

Other titles in the series...

Other titles in University Press of Kentucky...