Facebook X YouTube Instagram TikTok NetGalley
Google Books previews are unavailable because you have chosen to turn off third party cookies for enhanced content. Visit our cookies page to review your cookie settings.

Emotional Storm (Paperback)

P&S History > Social Science & Culture > Psychology

Imprint: Wesleyan University Press
Pages: 272
Illustrations: 2 illus.
ISBN: 9780819567543
Published: 19th May 2005
Casemate UK Academic

Please note this book may be printed for your order so despatch times may be slightly longer than usual.

in_stock

£16.95


You'll be £16.95 closer to your next £10.00 credit when you purchase Emotional Storm. What's this?
+£4.99 UK Delivery or free UK delivery if order is over £40
(click here for international delivery rates)

Order within the next 7 hours, 18 minutes to get your order processed the next working day!

Need a currency converter? Check XE.com for live rates



"When two personalities meet, an emotional storm is created." This provocative quote by renowned psychoanalyst W.R. Bion is the point of departure for Eigen's new work. In the tradition of Martin Buber, Eigen explores the broad spectrum of emotions we experience in our relatedness to others, from feelings of longing, plenitude, and fulfillment to starvation, suffocation, and blind rage. Unlike authors of "easy" self-help books, Eigen embraces the storms of life as a critical aspect of our human bond. For Eigen, the emotional storm is not pathological, but rather integral to our humanity and instrumental to our growth and development. For this reason, he looks critically at our attempts to blunt our emotional response to the world around us. Like Eigen's other work, Emotional Storm weaves case studies, literary references, and psychoanalytic theory into an integrated, complex understanding.

There are no reviews for this book. Register or Login now and you can be the first to post a review!

Other titles in Wesleyan University Press...